Hurt


Trent Reznor, singer of the band Nine Inch Nails  wrote the song for the concept album „The downward spiral “ in 1994 . In 2002 Johnny Cash covered the song , it was more successfull than the original from NIN , he used the same lyrics . Cash first refused to sing a cover of this song  , but when his producer Rubin played a demo, he desidered to do so , he called hurt the „Best anti drug song “ he ever heard.

Rubin asked Reznor for the permission to publish the cover song of Jonny Cash , he sent him a demo tape . Reznor said in an interview for the New Musical Express :“ it was strange to hear this very personal  song , performed by another person, it was as if you see someone kissing your girlfriend. – He gave his permission to Cash , it was an honour for him that Cash , one of the greatest songwriter and singer ever wanted to cover his song .

the cover from Johnny Cash (the video received the Country Music Award award as best Music Video in 2003 )

Hurt
I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
The only thing that’s real
The needle tears a hole
The old familiar sting
Try to kill it all away
But I remember everything

What have I become?
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
Goes away in the end
You could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of shit
On my liar’s chair
Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stain of time
The feeling disappears
You are someone else
I am still right here

What have I become?
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
Goes away in the end
You could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

If I could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

other cover versions

Leona Lewis

2 Cellos from Croatia with a classical instrumental cover

Youn Sun Nah

Hundreth (Metalcore band l )

Ken Jeong (from the Hangover III Soundtrack )

and at least the fantastic sad Kermit

 

You don´t need to hurt yourself , the world gives you pain enough ,

it´s hard to handle , but worth to try (Stan Notes )

 

 

Über Stan

my other blogs : http://xworldmusic.wordpress.com (co -author) http://worldonfirerecords.wordpress.com/ Zeige alle Beiträge von Stan

3 responses to “Hurt

Schreibe einen Kommentar

